Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Handsworth Secondary School: Research Databases

World Book Student

World Book Advanced

The Canadian Encyclopedia

The World Factbook

 

UNESCO World Heritage List

World Heritage List

BC Encyclopedia

http://knowbc.com/var/knowbc/storage/images/media/images/book-covers-largest-size/ebc-cover-lg/201687-1-eng-GB/EBC-Cover-Lg_medium.jpg

WHAT IS A RESEARCH DATABASE?

A database is a collection of searchable information gathered from a variety of reliable sources.

Examples of reliable sources you’ll have access to: Time Magazine, Maclean’s, History Today, New Scientist, Wired, Journal of Environmental Science, etc.

Stack of newspapers

 

WHY USE A RESEARCH DATABASE?

  • Relevant results are immediately accessible and free of pop-up ads.
  • Information is fact-checked and peer-reviewed.
  • Results include articles that can normally only be accessed through a subscription or pay-per-view resource.

WHEN TO USE A RESEARCH DATABASE?

When starting your research, important questions to ask are:

  1. WHAT IS MY RESEARCH QUESTION?
  2. HOW MUCH DO I KNOW ABOUT MY TOPIC?

Depending on your research question and how much you know about your topic will determine which resource is best for you to use. Use the tabs to the right to get started. For example, if you know 50-75% of your topic, then start using a DATABASE. If the topic is completely new to you, select the 0-25% tab, for information on how to get started with a REFERENCE SOURCE.

If you know 0-25% of your topic, choose a REFERENCE SOURCE. Reference sources could be an encyclopedia, an atlas, a dictionary or a thesaurus. These are situated in the left column. Examples include World Book, Canadian Encyclopedia, etc. They will help you familiarize yourself with the topic, and the vocabulary associated.

If you know 25-50% of your topic, choose a BOOK. Books can be in print, electronic or audio formats. Click here to search the complete HANDSWORTH CATALOGUE. If we don't have what you are looking for, to the right are links to local libraries where you can find extensive e-book and audio book collections that you can access with your municipal library card.

If you know 50-75% of your topic, choose a DATABASE from the list directly below (EBSCO, Gale). Databases are organized, searchable sources of information, available only with a subscription. Here you will find more specific information than you would googling.

In your DATABASE search, you can tailor the results to a certain period of time, and to certain information types, like news stories, or academic journal articles. Use the vocabulary words you learned from your REFERENCE and BOOK sources as your search terms. Avoid abbreviations and questions.

Local libraries (see links in top-right column) have access to even more DATABASES.

If you know 75-100% of your topic, choose a SEARCH ENGINE like Google or Google Scholar on the Internet. Use the search terms and phrases from your DATABASE searches in your Google search. Use your critical thinking skills to determine whether a result is reliable or not.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

 

EBSCO Host

Great News: Four Free Databases from EBSCOhost | Ottawa Public Library

EBSCO Research Databases

Home or Personal Device Access

Great News: Four Free Databases from EBSCOhost | Ottawa Public Library

HOW TO ACCESS RESEARCH DATABASES?

At school

All networked computers, laptops, and devices connected to NVSD-Mobile will automatically give you access to these DATABASES.

At home

These DATABASES are password-protected. Connect from home using the following user information.

Login id: sd44user

Password: nvsd44

 

How to Make a Bibliography - ie. Works Cited

Statistics Canada

BC Statistics

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Atlas of Canada

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fe/Geopolitical_map_of_Canada.png