Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Theatre Boo of Monologues for Women
American Theatre Book of Monologues for Women by
Call Number: 812 AME
The best monologues from 15 years of American Theatre magazine plays. These monologue books present the best audition pieces for actors selected from over 80 plays first published in American Theatre magazine since 1985. The magazine has published many of the most important contemporary American plays over the last 15 years, including Angels in America, Three Tall Women, M. Butterfly, Talk Radio, The Baltimore Waltz, Buried Child, to name a few. Chosen by Stephanie Coen, the former managing editor of American Theatre, these books provide a remarkable array of styles and characters for use in auditions or scene study classes by male and female actors. Selected from the work of the following playwrights: Edward Albee, Jon Robin Baitz, Eric Bogosian, Pearl Cleage, Don DeLillo, Rita Dove, Christopher Durang, Horton Foote, Maria Irene Fornes, Athol Fugard, Vaclav Havel, Danny Hoch, David Henry Hwang, Moisès Kaufman, Tony Kushner, Craig Lucas, Emily Mann, Steve Martin, Reynolds Price, Dael Orlandersmith, David Rabe, Sam Shepard, Paula Vogel, Lanford Wilson and George C. Wolfe. Stephanie Coen is the former managing editor of American Theatre magazine. She is currently associated with the Intiman Theatre in Seattle, Washington, where she lives.
Modern Monlogues for Men
The Oberon Book of Modern Monologues for Men, Volume 3 by
Call Number: 812 OBE
Monologues are an essential part of every actor's toolkit. The monologues in this collection contain a diverse range of memorable characters that cross cultural and historical boundaries, with pieces organized into age-specific groups: "Teens," "Twenties," and "Thirties." This volume features a foreword by Tom Hiddleston and an introduction by Dee Cannon.
One on One
One on One by
Call Number: 812 ONE
(Applause Acting Series). Three editors, each associated with theatre, collaborated on this book of monologues for actresses. What they discovered, besides bravura pieces for auditions, acting classes, and study, was the pulse of the millennial theatrical scene. A follow-up to the popular previous edition from the 1990s, One on One: The Best Women's Monologues for the 21st Century includes the work of over 70 playwrights, spotlighting the best of Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional, and experimental writings since 2000. A special introduction also explains how to choose, practice, and perform a speech for auditions. Comic or serious or both the monologues are written for young, old, and multicultural players by famous names and up-and-coming talent. Anna Deavere Smith records abuse in "real" relationships ( House Arrest ); August Wilson relates trials of those who survived coming to America and those who did not ( Gem of the Ocean ); and William Gibson recreates the dark, fledgling days of Israel ( Golda's Balcony ). Additional works include Are You Ready? by David Auburn, Bad Dates by Theresa Rebeck, The Committee by Brian Dykstra, and many others.
Professional Scenes and Monologs
Fifty More Professional Scenes and Monologs for Student Actors by
Call Number: 808.8 KLU
Anyone who needs monologues and/or short two-person scenes for auditions and competitions will find this book to be a valuable resource. Designed for professional actors seeking roles in TV shows, commercials and sgate productions, it may also be used by student performers who wish to work at a profesional level. Most scenes are generic, easily adaptable for use by male or female actors. Emphasis is on believable characters, no cartoon types.
Modern Monologues for Women
Oberon Book of Modern Monologues for Women by
Call Number: 812 OBE
Following the bestselling first and second volumes, this book showcases selected monologues by today's leading contemporary playwrights. The collection contains speeches for actors in their teens, twenties or thirties, with 15 monologues included for each age group. An ideal resource for drama school entry, training, and auditioning for roles in the industry.
Moving Parts by
Call Number: 812 MOV
Moving Parts offers actors the best monologues from great plays--pieces by both well-known and up-and-coming playwrights, including many minority artists--that offer a variety of dramatic styles for beginning and experienced actors. Included are more than a hundred monologues from such contemporary voices as Eric Bogosian, Caryl Churchill, Christopher Durang, Maria Irene Fornes, Athol Fugard, Philip Kan Gotanda, Václav Havel, Lanford Wilson, and George C. Wolfe. Designed for easy browsing, the monologues are indexed by gender, age, and subject to help actors locate appropriate material, and each is introduced with a short description of the plot, setting, and character type. These monologues stand on their own as good theater, while they give actors a well-defined character, a story to tell, and a wide range of behavior and feeling to portray.
Play the Scene
Play the Scene by
Call Number: 808.8 PLA
Alexander Dumas * Christopher Durang * Beth Henley * Kenneth Lonergan * Donald Margulies * Steve Martin * Nicky Silver * Bernard Shaw * Alfred Uhry * Paula Vogel A collection of the greatest scenes and monologues ever written-ranging from Elizabethan to Tony Award-winning plays-this comprehensive anthology spans over five hundred years of theatre. Play the Scene: The Ultimate Collection of Contemporary and Classic Scenes and Monologues by coauthors Michael Schulman and Eva Mekler includes scenes and monologues from classic plays by such notable authors as Edith Wharton as well as the best in contemporary theatre, such as Margaret Edson's Wit. * Blight Spirit * Camille * The Chosen * The Graduate * How I Learned to Drive * The Last Night of Ballyhoo * The Lisbon Traviata * This Is Our Youth * Vincent in Brixton * And many more!
Tough Acts to Follow
Tough Acts to Follow by
Call Number: 808.8 ULL
These short perceptive monologues reveal the humour and strength of teens as they deal with a wide range of situations and dilemmas both poignant and funny. Death, divorce, dating and dieting -- violence in schools, gangs, dreams and dumb stuff -- it's all included in a mixed collection of monologues for performers of all types. Excellent for classroom or speech contests, auditions or discussion starters.
Two Minute Monologs
Two-Minute Monologs by
Call Number: 808.8 ALT
With several best-selling original monolog books under his belt, screen writer, actor, and highly respected monologue/audition acting coach Glenn Altermann considers this his best book yet. These 48 monologsevenly split between mens and womenseach tell a compelling story that has a beginning, a middle, and an end while presenting the actor with an identifiable emotional journey. The wide variety of characterizations offers many choices for actors seeking challenging new roles in a professional audition length. The tones of these pieces range from gritty, real life drama to comedy, and have all been tested and fine-tuned to receive the most enthusiastic responses from both actors and directors.