Teacher Assignments: Murton - Earth Science 11 Peer Teaching Research Project

Learn about our world, the universe, and groundbreaking discoveries in The Science Book. Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with illustrations and graphics throughout.

This volume provides explanations of key concepts in earth science, physics, biology, chemistry, and mathematics, along with tables of chemical elements.

The Usborne Understanding Geography series presents the principles of physical geography and the latest scientific research in an exciting and accessible way. Earthquakes and volcanic eruptions are some of the world's most spectacular natural phenomena.

Describes the world's seas and oceans, their effect on the land and the climate, the creatures that live in them, and the ways in which humans use and abuse them.

Earth's seas play a tremendous role in the planet's systems: Ocean currents transfer water and heat around the globe, and ocean ecosystems are among the most biologically productive anywhere. But the oceans are being abused. Wild fisheries are harvested to the point of collapse, and some aquaculture damages life and the environment. People intentionally or inadvertently dump wastes - sewage, oil, toxic chemicals, detergents, fertilizers, and invasive species - and all have an impact on ocean ecosystems.

The ultimate guide to the planet-altering effects of extreme weather. Recent decades have brought record temperatures, devastating storms, and killer waves, which have in turn spurred widespread curiosity about how such weather systems develop. Organized by weather event including hurricanes, winter storms, lightning, tornadoes, floods, heat waves. Extreme Weather takes an eye-popping look at exactly how meteorological systems work and even handedly discusses the impact human activity has had in altering both weather and climate. H. Michael Mogil presents the results of his 35 years of meteorological research in a comprehensive overview of extreme weather systems, noting historical trends as well as what to expect in the future. He also explains how many events occur because the earth's environment self-regulates, while others maybe influenced by such factors as rising temperatures in cities, deforestation, and population increases.

Become an eyewitness to the world's climate emergency and learn what we can do about it. Get the facts about how our planet's climate is changing and what the consequences will be. This essential guide explores Earth's climate, past and present, giving you the facts and figures behind one of today's most urgent issues, and investigates what we can all do to make a difference. DK Eyewitness Climate Change explains why human activities are making the planet heat up -and how we know for sure that this is the case. This global warming book explores the effects of the changing climate, from more frequent hurricanes and wildfires to melting ice caps and rising sea levels. It shows how scientists predict how the climate will change in the future, and what actions we can all take to combat climate change Packed with photographs, facts, and statistics that offer a unique "eyewitness" view of the dramatic changes that are affecting the weather, the environment, and the way we lead our lives.

Become an eyewitness to nature's most extreme weather phenomena. See inside the eye of a cyclone, witness hailstones the size of tennis balls, and learn how a gentle mountain stream can become a raging surge within a few minutes. Discover a bridge that collapsed due to severe gusts of wind, and learn about a tree species in southwest Africa that can survive several years of drought.  Along the way, you'll uncover historical items that reveal how ancient civilizations predicted the weather as well as the weather-forecasting techniques that have developed over the centuries and how human activity can cause weather patterns to change. With striking images, models, and illustrations, this visual guide offers a unique view of catastrophic weather conditions. From polar regions to the tropics, this storm book shows the effects of nature's most extreme weather.

Discover the awesome power of nature in this visual guide to the dynamic natural phenomena across our planet. Become an eyewitness to the weird and wonderful ways of our world, from tsunamis to tornadoes, and discover nature's awesome potential with this Eyewitness guide. See how earthquakes, floods and hurricanes affect what lies in their path, and what measures we can use to protect ourselves from Mother Nature. Follow the journey of some of the most catastrophic disasters, and witness the rescue operations that followed. Learn, too, about the equipment used to predict natural disasters, from tsunami magnitude to the earthquake Richter scale and how studies help predict hurricanes, prevent avalanches, control wildfires, and survive earthquakes.

Become an eyewitness to the world's oceans and explore everything from shores and reefs to the freezing depths. Discover the watery world that covers two-thirds of the globe and find out why oceans are so important to life on Earth. Meet jet-propelled octopuses and hermit crabs, look closely at seaweed, find out how waves form and discover the submarines and submersibles that have explored shipwrecks and the deepest trenches. Learn about prehistoric oceans and find out how people are trying to protect the oceans of the future. Discover the sequences of sea animal behavior, diagrams of how oceans work, and maps along with amazing facts, infographics, statistics, and timelines to reveal the many aspects of this marine.

Become an eyewitness to the rocks and minerals beneath your feet, covering everything from volcanic rocks and shiny gemstones to ancient marble and fallen meteorites. Did you know that every rock is a combination of one or more minerals? Or that marble was first used in ancient Greece but still forms deep underground as you read this? Unearth the hidden treasures of the earth's surface, and find out how they all came to be here. Almost 20,000 meteorites land on our planet every year, but what does a space rock actually look like? Find out how to spot and identify minerals and fossils, and discover how crystals grow.

Become an eyewitness to the world's weather - from heatwaves and droughts to blizzards and floods. Why does it rain? How hot is a bolt of lightning? What makes hurricanes form? Become a meteorology expert, set up a home weather station, and learn to read nature's signs of changing weather. Showing you what weather looks like, from a tropical storm cloud seen from above to close-ups of snowflake crystals. Learn about what weather scientists do, why weather works differently on the coast and inland, and much more along the way with amazing facts, infographics, statistics, and timelines.

This fact-packed encyclopedia has Content across the core subjects of nature, science, technology, history, and culture, tackling each topic in an engaging, attention-grabbing way. Facts and stats, quizzes, and interviews with experts - from astronauts to zoologists. Become an eyewitness to the world's most incredible nature, science, and historical events. Eyewitness Encyclopedia of Everything introduces the essential guide to the world's most deadly creatures and natural wonders, history's heroes and villains, and science's most incredible breakthroughs and inventions.

Earth Science: An Illustrated Guide to contains six sections, a comprehensive glossary, a Web site guide, and an index. Full-colour diagrams, graphs, charts, and maps on every page illustrate the essential elements of the subject, while parallel text provides key definitions and step-by-step explanations. The six sections include: Earth and Space, Earth’s History, Earth's Rocks, Air and Oceans, Shaping the Surface and Comparisons.

Earth is the water planet, but only a tiny amount of the planet's water is fresh and usable, and water pollution has become a monumental dilemma as we enter the 21st century. Though developed nations now regulate some pollutants and as a result their waterways are cleaner, new chemicals are increasingly being released into the environment, resulting in a toxic soup that may be causing cancers, development problems, and other concerns in people and wildlife. And besides pollution, overfishing and engineering projects are destroying freshwater ecosystems.

Weather and Climate: An Illustrated Guide to Science Contains nine sections, a comprehensive glossary, a Web site guide, and an index. ""Weather and Climate"" is an ideal learning tool for students and teachers of science. Full-colour diagrams, graphs, charts, and maps on every page illustrate the essential elements of the subject, while parallel text provides key definitions and step-by-step explanations. The nine sections include: The Atmospheric Engine, Components of Weather, Weather Systems, Extremes of Weather, Meteorology, Climate and Seasons, World Climate Data, U.S. Climate Data, and Human Impact on Climate.

This work provides scholarly accounts of all major storm systems ever recorded. For many of the storms described, the author provides maps of their course, detailed chronologies of their progress, photographs of their aftermath, and comments about them from first-hand observers.