Primary Sources: Definition and Resources: This SFU site provides information about Primary Documents in History and the Humanities.
The colonial despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871: This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia.
B.C. Historical Newspapers: The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of 24 historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1924.
British Colonist, 1858-1910: One of western Canada's oldest newspapers. Full text.
Multicultural Canada Project: First-hand accounts of first generation immigrants
SFU Library Editorial Cartoons Collection: "Over 3500 original drawings by Len Norris, Roy Peterson, Graham Harrop, Bob Krieger, Dan Murphy, Bob Bierman, Ingrid Rice, and Edd Uluschak published in Canadian newspapers between 1952 and the present."
Tacoma Public Library Northwest Room: Highlights include a Ships and Shipping Database with descriptions of more than 13,000 ships either built on the Pacific Coast or with a connection to the Pacific Northwest.
Vancouver Public Library Historical Photographs Database: The Leonard Frank, Phillip Timms and Maddie Gunterman photograph collections documenting early Vancouver and British Columbia.
viHistory: Digitized historic records about the history of Vancouver Island. The Vancouver Island portions of the 1881 and 1891 censuses are available for searching, along with various statutes and municipal bylaws, as well as a small selection of maps.