Skip to main content

Continuous Learning for Teachers

This guide provides resources for teachers making the transition to teaching remotely. Click on one of the blue tabs to the left of this page to navigate through the guide (if you are accessing this page on a smaller screen, the navigation tabs may be located at the top of the page). 

Each resource has a dedicated page with an introduction, links to suggestions on how it can be used in the classroom, and tutorial videos and materials to help get started. 

You can search for information or resources in the search box at the top right of the page.

If you have suggestions for material that should be added to these pages, or any needed corrections, please. let us know!

Emergency Resources Available During COVID-19 Pandemic


Your NVDPL library card gives you access to a variety of e-content that you can access from the comfort of your own home. From ebooks and e-comics to e-magazines, e-newspapers and more. All available to you for free, 24/7!

Check out these instructions on their website to learn more. 

Don't have a library card? No problem! During the COVID-19 crisis, library staff are available to provide temporary cards for residents of North Vancouver District who want to access digital resources and ebooks. Call 604-984-0286 to speak with someone in the Circulation Department to set up a new account.

 

undefinedAlready have a library card? Download Libby!

With Libby on your mobile device (or in your web browser) you can access a huge collection of e-books and and audiobooks. Reserve popular titles, and when they become available, download them to your computer,  e-reader, or mobile device.

 

 

 

The National Emergency Library is a collection of more than 1.4 million books, primarily published in the twentieth century, that have been made available online by the Internet Archive for the purpose of remote teaching, research, and independent scholarship while schools, universities, and libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

To borrow an e-book from the National Emergency Library, users are required to sign up for a free Internet Archive account but the collection can be searched prior to signing on. Borrowed titles can be downloaded or viewed online for a 14-day loan period and up to ten books can be borrowed at one time. 

 

 

undefinedProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Most are older literary works published before 1924. Thousands of volunteers have digitized and diligently proofread the books, for enjoyment and education. Choose from among free ePub and Kindle download formats, or read them online. 

 

 

 

 

undefined

Audible has made a collection of books available for free streaming during the COVID-19 pandemic. The collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, has something for every age level and interest. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet. No account or sign in is required. Click here to browse the available titles.

 

To support home learning during the COVID-19 crisis, Criterion-on-Demand has expanded the licensing rights for a wide selection of films to allow students to access and view from home.

Students can log in at www.criterionondemand.com with the following credentials:

Username: 91018

Password: Nvan44

This home access will be available until June 30, 2020. 

 

undefinedCAMPUS is a collection of 5,200 documentaries, animated films, interactive productions, and short films in English and French from the vault of the National Film Board of Canada. In addition to being able to stream this content, CAMPUS offers mini-lessons built around the films that use curated clips paired with activities, designed by teachers. 

Content is organized around three key themes: indigenous voices and reconciliation, the environment and sustainability, and diversity and inclusion.

To facilitate online learning during the COVID-19 outbreak, the NFB is offering a free CAMPUS subscription to all Canadian teachers until June 30, 2020.

To request access, complete this online form

Textbook publishers Nelson and Pearson are providing free online access to their respective textbooks titles during the COVID-19 crisis. Both teachers and students can access the available titles using the instructions below. 

 

1. Visit the myNelson website

2. Login with the following credentials:

Username: bc912

Password: NelsonBC123

 

Access to Pearson titles requires the creation of an account for their Kivuto book store. Although the process requires you to "purchase" titles, no payment information is required and there is no charge. 

To access, follow these step-by-step instructions.

Subject Resources Available During COVID-19 Pandemic

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined