Good Notes:
Make sure you add your research source to your draft bibliography.
Use these charts to draft your bibliography information.
Remember, when you are conducting research, the two most important questions to ask are:
WHAT'S MY QUESTION? HOW MUCH DO I KNOW?
Depending on your question and how much you know about your topic will determine which resource is the best one for you to use.
If you know 0-25% of your topic, choose a REFERENCE source.
If you know 25-50% of your topic, choose a BOOK.
If you know 50-75% of your topic, choose a DATABASE from the approved list on this page.
If you know 75-100% of your topic, choose a SEARCH ENGINE like GOOGLE on the INTERNET. Use the SEARCH terms and phrases from your DATABASE searches in your GOOGLE search. Use what you know about your topic already to weed out useless or wrong information. But first, check the approved Featured Websites located on each page.
Online Library Catalogue
Go to the North Vancouver School District Home page
Go to the very bottom of the page
Under Resources, Click On-Line Library Catalogue
Under Quick Search, under Everything
Choose Author, Title, or Subject
Type in your search
A bibliography is more than a mere list of books or websites.
A bibliography is the first indicator that you have completed credible research.
At Sutherland, most teachers request the MLA (Modern Language Association) format for bibliography formatting.
Some teachers may request the APA (American Psychological Association) format for bibliography formatting.
The Countries A to Z section, provides facts, figures and statistical data on geography, climate, people, religion, language, history, economy & more. The World Maps section, provides full color physical maps and political maps for regions of the world.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Destinations: The Lonely Planet Travel Guide
Lonely Planet’s travel experts have trekked the globe to hand-pick the best trends, destinations, journeys and experiences.
The Process
Practice Paraphrasing
Getting Information
