Argyle Secondary School Library Digital Learning Commons: Social Studies

This exhibit put together by the North Shore Archives displays Lynn Valley resident, Walter Draycott's, journal, maps, and letters detailing his experiences of World War I.

This Youtube video shows footage of Vancouver in 1907

This publication from the Archeology Association of America provides articles and information about current digs and important sites.

This interactive site uses over 100 objects from the British Museum to tell a history of the world

This interactive website and World allows users to see all of the World Heritage sites and provides information about the status of each.

This interactive website provides a breakdown of each Canadian Election since 1896.

This Cartogram provides an interactive breakdown of the results of the 2019 Federal Election and an interesting breakdown by riding.

This Website provides interactive features about Canadian Provincial and Federal Elections and Campaigns and American Elections and Campaigns

This site is an interactive map used to explore each of the Canadian ridings.

This website is great to use in all Social Studies Classes. It provides documentaries and charts that show progression and changes in population, wealth and many other areas.

This excellent Website is a visualization engine for international trade data.

This site has a lot of great videos for Economics classes.

This article has a visualization of World shipping routes and shows how they have changed over time.

This website shows world maps where areas are resized according the subject of interest.

An online game where you can use your detective skills to guess where in the world the images are from!

This site shows how the earth has changed over the last 30 years.

This Website provides a great visualization of the American Left and Right beliefs.

This website is a resource for teachers that integrates local Indigenous ecological knowledge with natural resource management. Provides unit plans and resources.

The First Nations Education Steering Committee website provides educators with a lot of resources. Including resource guides, primary sources, information about conferences and other activities.

This CBC Video discusses various terms related to Indigenous peoples.

The website allows users to look at different Indigenous groups, land claims, and language groups around the world.

This website is a inquiry based resource to help better understand the residential school system, it's history, and its impacts in Canada. It has a large selection of resources including testimonials, newspaper articles and interactive maps.

This CBC article provides insight into the Indian Act.

This site is all about Brown vs. The Board of Education and includes many teaching resources

Is it just to have a statute of limitations on rape? Join the debate.

This websites provides lesson plans, links to e-resources such as primary documents, maps, and photos. Is great for History, SJ and Law

The website explores our understanding of race. It includes a variety of resources including a timeline, teacher resources, and information about cultural and biological variations.

This websites provides lesson plans, links to e-resources such as primary documents, maps, and photos. Is great for History, SJ and Law

This is a guide to understanding the Canadian Human Rights Act

This simple website provides a lot of information and images about different musical instruments.

This article provides information and access to 12 different museums providing virtual tours.

This site provides more virtual tours of museums and galleries like MOMA, Guggenheim, and the Smithsonian.It also provides tours of American National Parks like Yellowstone National Park for example.

This list provides some of the museums listed above, but also lists several zoos and aquariums who offer virtual tours.

This websites provides lesson plans, links to e-resources such as primary documents, maps, and photos. Is great for History, SJ and Law

This Youtube video is a time lapse of every nuclear explosion since 1945.

This LibGuide from the University of Delaware provides a list of many websites organized by time frame and geographic area.