Please contact the teacher librarian for help with access to the BCDC databases if you are trying to access them off the school site. Passcodes are necessary! They are available at the front circulation desk in the Windsor Library.
Click on the image above to have instant connection to the Windsor Library Catalogue.
Music
Images
"Approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art."
"DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Articles at this web site explain how ordinary "stuff" works, such as electricity, car engines, the human body, government organizations, tattoos, etc.
Free access to citations and abstracts to articles from over 20,000 journals in a variety of subject areas. Full text is available for purchase.
Answer questions; do math; instantly get facts, calculators, unit conversions, and real-time quantitative data and statistics; create plots and visualizations; and access vast scientific, technical, chemical, medical, health, business, financial, weather, geographic, dictionary, calendar, reference, and general knowledge—and much more.
Worldwide catalog of over 100 million books held in libraries across America and other countries.
FUR TRADE STORIES - Click on the above image for Fur Trade Stories, a unique presentation of primary and secondary resources found in the collections of Canada's National History Society, HBCA - Archives of Manitoba, The Manitoba Museum, Parks Canada and several First Nations communities.
Home | I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal (usask.ca)
The iportal is an extremely useful online library of scholarly articles and other resources about First Nations people arranged under headings. It is created and maintained by the University of Saskatchewan Libraries.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada (DCB/DBC) is the home of close to 9,000 biographies of individuals from all walks of life and all parts of the country.
Access to EBSCOhost, Canadian Points of View, NoveList Plus, Poetry & Short Story Reference Centre, Literary Reference Centre & Science Reference Centre.
Information on a range of Canadian topics, people, places and events written from a Canadian perspective.
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
National and global publications, experiments, projects, and reference content.
Authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
A database of primary source digital historical content dating 1450 - 2008.
Student research interface. WATCH VIDEO: Research Made Easy
WORLD BOOK ONLINE
A general reference encyclopedia available on three levels. Includes French and Spanish Encyclopedias.
An encyclopedia about people, places and things in British Columbia.
Canadian Encyclopedia: updated information about Canada's events, culture, history & landscape.
Encyclopedia of Life: Extensive Information about the many life forms on Earth.
An atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.
Fact-checked Encyclopedia with objective articles, biographies, videos and images. 3 reading levels
"Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web."
