Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
British Columbia Encyclopedia
Squamish-English Dictionary by
Call Number: R 497 SKW
This dictionary is the first published compilation by the Squamish Nation of Skwxwú7mesh Sníchim, one of ten Coast Salish languages. The Squamish peoples' traditional homeland includes the territory around Burrard Inlet (Vancouver, B.C.), Howe Sound, and the Squamish and Cheakamus river valleys. The Squamish language is critical to the Squamish Nation. It offers a view of modern daily life, and contains the historical record, protocols, laws, and concerns of generations of Squamish people, but is also critically endangered today. This dictionary builds on over 100 years of documentation and research by Squamish speakers working with anthropologists and linguists beginning in the late nineteenth century. The dictionary is also informed by Squamish elders who taught language classes in the 1960s. More recently, the Squamish Language Elders Advisory Group has been involved with and supported the work of the Skwxwú7mesh Sníchim dictionary and language recovery initiatives. This important work is a reflection of current knowledge and is designed as a beginner's resource for a diverse audience of learners and scholars, as well as a tool for exploration.