Skip to Main Content

Science 12 Research Paper: Research Databases

Information for the Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics Research Papers

Databases & Encyclopedias

Database and Encyclopedia Access: Carson Graham Secondary School

A database is a collection of searchable information gathered from a variety of reliable sources.

Why use a research database?

  • Relevant results are immediately accessible and free of pop-up ads.
  • Information is fact-checked and peer-reviewed.
  • Results include articles that can normally only be accessed through a subscription or pay-per-view resource.

To access, please scroll to bottom of page.

Databases

Information on a range of Canadian topics, people, places & events from a Canadian perspective.  

International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, & current events.

  National & global publications, experiments, projects, & reference content.

Authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, & reference content.

 Encyclopedias & specialized reference e-books for multidisciplinary research.

 Primary source digital historical content from 1450 - 2008. 

 Student research interface. Scroll to select Explora for Secondary. VIDEO: Research Made Easy 

 Includes full-text articles, journals, & newspapers. 

 Medical research & information on health-related topics

 Find books by subject, or read reviews & summaries. Select Novelist.  VIDEO TUTORIAL

Encyclopedias

 

Fact-checked encyclopedia with objective articles, biographies, videos, and images. 

 

A general reference encyclopedia. Includes French & Spanish

 

 An encyclopedia about people, places & things in British Columbia. 

  Canadian Encyclopedia: information on Canada's events, culture, history & landscape.   

  Encyclopedia of Life: Information on the many life forms on Earth.

 An atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, & histories of Indigenous Peoples. 

Other Resources

North Vancouver City Library Access North Van City Library Online Resources (NVCL card required for login)

 Vancouver Sun ePaper: Please see Library Staff for Login 

 

Access to NVSD's Digital Resources 

Access to databases & encyclopaedias:

Username: sd44user Password: nvsd44

EBSCO:

Username: BCSD44 Password: research23!