Skip to Main Content

Subject Guide: Digital Literacy

Digital Literacy Framework for BC

Digital Literacy Framework

The Digital Literacy Framework (PDF) elaborates on six characteristics identified by B.C. educational leaders. These characteristics are based on the National Educations Technology Standards for Students (NETS•S) standards developed by the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) and encompass the types of knowledge and skills learners need to be successful in the 21st century. 

The characteristics are:

  1. Research and Information Literacy: Students apply digital tools to gather, evaluate, and use information
  2. Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making: Students use critical thinking skills to plan and conduct research, manage projects, solve problems, and make informed decisions using appropriate digital tools and resources
  3. Creativity and Innovation: Students demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes using technology
  4. Digital Citizenship: Students understand human, cultural, and societal issues related to technology and practice legal and ethical behavior
  5. Communication and Collaboration: Students use digital media and environments to communicate and work collaboratively, including at a distance, to support individual learning and contribute to the learning of others
  6. Technology Operations and Concepts: Students demonstrate a sound understanding of technology concepts, systems, and operations. 


Digital Literacy Model (Media Smarts)


Digital Literacy in Canada

What is Digital Literacy? (Media Smarts)